I’m With Her

Tuesday, November 8th, 2016. Today is election day in the United States. My facebook/instagram/ twitter has been flooded for the past few months with my American friends telling people to vote, and who to vote for.

Right now being Canadian, as I am, looks pretty good. But I am very concerned. Whoever gets voted in to be the president will no doubt affect Canada, and you know well, everyone. Maybe I shouldn’t have an opinion, or maybe my opinion doesn’t matter because it’s not like I can vote in this election—but I’m putting it out there and saying #ImwithHer . Looking at the American election from Canada is what I imagine the Americans might have been doing when we recently elected our new Prime Minister. Everyone was paranoid that too many people would vote for Stephen Harper again, and I couldn’t stand to look at his stupid sweater vests for another four years.

I like to think of myself as a strong, independent woman, which I also believe defines Hillary Clinton. Like look at all girl has gone through to get to where she is today. This is why I’m so confused by women who support Donald Trump. He talks about women in the crudest possible ways and the most objectifying ways like we are not humans. I haven’t met any woman who does support Trump—the only one I know of is that woman on CNN who is blonde and I can’t remember her name. But I want to shake her and say you know he hates us… RIGHT?!?!

My brother posted something on facebook today that said:

“Happy Am I moving to Canada day?! ” Which made me laugh, but also resonates some truth. People joke about moving to Canada all the time but if Hillary doesn’t win how many people will actually consider moving here? I know for me if the election went south,  I would move to Canada if I was American.

Back to Hillary. I can’t believe that people are still talking about those emails. I want to say let it go guys, because your other option is a misogynist tool who has legit sexually assaulted women and this is the person we want young people and children to look up to? No thanks.

Yeah, I see myself as a strong feminist but often my brain gets conflicted. I believe that anyone can be a feminist because it’s just about equality. Do you think women should get paid the same amount of money for doing the same work that men do? Because I think they should. I’ll tell you why my brain gets conflicted. Because I see myself as this strong independent person, there are certain situations that present themselves that make me feel less strong. An example would be when I get in a cab by myself late at night. Because of recent stories I’ve heard, sometimes I feel unsafe. I don’t think that I need another person in the cab with me, but the fact that I am a woman changes the dynamic in the cab. * This is why I like to take the bus home if I can *

So where is this little anecdote going? I think we need to see women differently. We need to see women in positions of power. We need Hillary. Things like how the media views women can’t change overnight. Just like things like women feeling safe in cabs unfortunately can’t change overnight either. ( A reason why Winnipeg needs uber right there )

For myself, I’ll always take a bus home if I have an option to ( although that is not to say that terrible things don’t happen on buses either… because they do ) and maybe one day that will change. I think the sooner we can do this whole equality thing the better. We’re getting there, but we’re nowhere near where we should be. I think it’s why we need Hillary, to stand up for us and for women everywhere, even this Canadian who is not an American citizen.

Here is a great clip from when Hillary Clinton was on SNL and my girl crush Kate Mckinnon being Hillary Clinton.

 

Are you also a Canadian that wants to  go out and see the election results? The one place I know in Winnipeg that is showing them, (probably with themed drinks as well) is The Good Will, which this girl will be going to after my class tonight. Link here:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1123555234367140/

 

Leave a Reply

