The Holiday Month that is December

I know it’s only December 12th but to me it feels like Christmas is right around the corner. ( The corner being next week ) and while I could write about something else the fact is that December just feels like a holiday month.

I’m serious. An entire holiday month that feels like nothing but christmas parties you’re obligated to go to and you better byo-any alcohol that will fit in your tiny purse that literally only holds your phone.

Lately when people want to hang out I’ve said I’m busy every single weekend can we hang out in January? And this is not family stuff. The older I get the more grateful I am that my immediate family is small and we have like two things. A thing on Christmas Eve and lazing around on Christmas day being like well we should eat eventually.

For example last year my family and I had chinese food for supper and went to a movie christmas day. It was kind of nice and very low key.

Saying this now is kind of unbelievable. Anyone in my family will attest to the fact that I am one for tradition. More so than my parents have been or  will ever be. I like things in a certain way, I like things to stay the same, and apparently liking organized plans are a virgo trait so I’m just following my astrological sign there.

I will say that traditionally I do like watching certain christmas movies every year. My main one that is not a christmas movie at all. It’s  The Sound of Music. When I was younger and we got together with family friends of ours on christmas day the kids would end up in the basement and we would turn on the T.V. Now I don’t know if you’ve ever tried to watch T.V. on christmas day. I think it’s a lot better now than it was back in the late 90’s/ early 2000s. Like you could probably find something on T.V. that you would actually watch.

Not the case when I was a child. Which meant we normally ended up watching whatever was on CBC because it was the only thing that wasn’t like the news or something. And what was on CBC every single year? The Sound of Music.

And at the glorious age of 23 a childhood dream of mine came true and I went to Salzburg, Austria and visited every place that they filmed for The Sound of Music. It was raining the entire day and I had to get someone else to take pictures of me standing in front of the gazebo and various things but I am happy in every single picture.

Another fave of mine is The Holiday. I know you’re saying but what about Love Actually?!? What about Hugh Grant?!? And Colin Firth?!

To that I say have you seen Jude Law do Mr. Napkin head in The Holiday or watch Cameron Diaz rock out to Mr. Brightside by The Killers? As an adult I also feel like I can ridiculously relate to both Cameron and Kate in that movie because they just want to get away from it all and get over various ex’s.  Also we can not forget that Eli Wallach pretty much explains what meet-cutes are in this movie and I use that term in my daily life.

The older I get I think the whole being excited about Christmas thing wears off as well. I look forward to hanging out with friends ( yeah all those christmas parties are a lot but also I’ve never seen my friends more in the span time of one month ) and value things like getting time off of work to be at home. To be lazy. To not get out of my pjs until dinner. To be excited when family comes home for christmas that I don’t get to see all the time. My brother doesn’t live in Winnipeg but always manages to come home for Christmas and I always love it. Even if we don’t hang out it’s good to have him home even if all we do is watch something like Back to the Future, or LOTR ( you try telling me that there is not a more perfect time to watch LOTR with commentary than at christmas) and quote the entire movie.

* Side note we’re a pain to watch a lot of movies with and it just gets worse as we get older*

Traditions can be great but it’s only a small part of the holiday season as I’m learning and the less I think we put it on a pedestal the better. Although that’s not going to stop me from watching The Holiday at least once complete with wine and chocolate because that’s my own small tradition that I like to live in.

This remains one of my favourite moments from the holiday:

cc2bde0990db531c0ebef023857c7677

 

Leave a Reply

